Looking forward · The Library

Looking Forward: The Cruel Prince by Holly Black

If we are talking about the books I´m most excited about in 2018, The Cruel Prince was something I totally didn´t have on my list. So it´s quite a surprise that I´m actually looking forward to this. What happened?

Basically, it took me a long time to get started on reading Holly Black. Or, to be more clear, to read her again. I devoured the Spiderwick Chronicles as a child (mostly because they were my best friends favourite books and I read them together with her #truefriendssharebooks), but I was honestly bad at remembering author names back then. I just frankly didn´t care who wrote which book, I just cared about the book. This is a phase I´m happy to have outgrown, but I still never quite found my way back to Holly Black. I was interested in her Tithe books, but…I honestly can´t explain why I never read them, it just never happened. But this year, another friend got me very interested in The darkest Part of the Forest, mostly by naming it as an inspiration for a fanfic. A few days after that, I stumbled over the German version of this book in my local books store and, honestly, take a look at this beautiful cover:

34724975How could I resist?!

And the story was amazing, with character full of edges, complicated and lost but still likable. I basically read the book in one setting, and it´s definitely down to get read again. And this is what got me into Cruel Prince. I was a bit doubtful about the book mostly being set in the fairy world, but Black convinced me with Forest. That book was so good, I can´t help but look forward to Cruel Prince.

So yes, The Cruel Prince is the book I´m mostly looking forward to in January!

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.